Book Awards

Michael L. Printz Award: The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the American Library Association’s Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA).

Margaret A. Edwards Award: The Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.  The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine.  It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

William C. Morris YA Debut Award: The William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Odyssey Award: This annual award is presented to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

YALSA's Award for Excellence in Nonfiction: YALSA's Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year.

Alex Award: The Alex Awards are given annually by YALSA to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

Massachusetts Teen Choice Book Award: Founded in 2021, the Massachusetts Teen Choice Book Award is the only Bay State award for YA works that are voted upon by the young people of Massachusetts.

National Book Award for Young People's Literature: The National Book Award for Young People's Literature is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation to recognize outstanding literary work for young people by US citizens.

Teen Choice Book Awards: The Teen Choice Book Awards is the only national book awards program where the winning titles are selected by teens.

Walter Dean Myers Award: Walter Dean Myers was a celebrated children’s book author, lifelong advocate for diversity in juvenile literature, and National Book Ambassador for Young People’s Literature.  The Walter Dean Myers Award, also known as “The Walter,” recognizes books that best exemplify Myers’s committment to providing children with powerful mirrors and windows